About Mercy

University of Iowa Health Alliance

In June, 2012, four of Iowa’s premier health care organizations announced the creation of a health care alliance in Iowa and contiguous areas. The new alliance, known as the University of Iowa Health Alliance (UIHA), today includes 58 hospitals and 175 clinics following the addition of Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-Iowa in April, 2014. The members of the alliance will work together to advance the high quality of health care services, to improve the health status of patients and communities, and to achieve efficiencies that will help member organizations reduce the rising cost of care for their patients.

Members of UIHA include:

  • Mercy Health Network (MHN), a statewide system comprised of 11 owned and 27 contract-affiliated hospitals, and 142 physician clinics with 625 physicians. MHN is based in Des Moines and includes the Mercy Medical Centers in Des Moines, Sioux City, Mason City, Dubuque and Clinton. It also includes owned community hospitals in Centerville, Dyersville, New Hampton, Primghar, West Des Moines and Oakland, Nebraska.
  • Genesis Health System (GHS), a system of four owned medical centers in Davenport, DeWitt and Silvis, Ill., two affiliated hospitals and numerous outpatient centers including urgent care clinics and ambulatory surgery centers. Genesis Health Group has more than 160 physicians. Genesis is based in Davenport and serves a 10-county region of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois.
  • Mercy – Cedar Rapids (MercyCare Service Corporation), a health care system serving the Eastern Iowa Corridor includes Mercy Medical Center, the Hall-Perrine Cancer Center, Mercy Health Plaza, multiple outpatient centers, and a network of 13 family practice clinics. The clinics are served by more than 80 physicians, physician assistants and nurse practitioners. Three urgent care facilities, four specialty clinics, and an affiliated community hospital also are included in the system.
  • University of Iowa Health Care (UI Health Care), based in Iowa City. UI Health Care is the state’s only comprehensive academic medical center. It includes University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, and University of Iowa Physicians, the state’s largest multi-specialty physician group practice that includes 1,432 physicians, residents, and fellows. There are also 7,482 non-physician employees. UI Health Care serves as a resource to the state with its research, medical education, patient care and numerous other initiatives.
  • Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare - Iowa is a faith-based 511-bed; not-for-profit, comprehensive medical/surgical health care provider offering acute levels of medical care at Covenant Medical Center, Waterloo; Sartori Memorial Hospital, Cedar Falls and Mercy Hospital, Oelwein. In addition, the System includes Covenant Clinic (more than 130 primary care and specialty providers); Covenant Foundation, Sartori Health Care Foundation and Mercy Hospital Foundation. Areas of excellence include: cardiology, orthopedics, neurosurgery, maternity and NICU, cancer treatment, minimally invasive and Bariatric surgery.  

UIHA creates a platform for sharing expertise, selected support services and information technologies needed to succeed in the emerging accountable care systems and payment programs. Working together in UIHA, members will strive to increase the value of services provided, improve clinical integration between the members, provide more streamlined and coordinated care to patients, and ultimately improve the health of people in Iowa and other regions served.

join The Conversation

  • Facebook
  • twitter
  • Youtube
  • Pinterest
  • Pinterest

make a Gift

Mercy Foundation
making a Difference